POETRY READING: Testimonies old and New

Join us at the Fruitmarket Gallery, 45 Market Street, Edinburgh EH1 1DF on Thursday 17 November 2022, 6.30-8pm for readings from Hamish Whyte, Elizabeth Cook and Diana Hendry.

  • Hamish Whyte’s Testimonies (Scotland 1623 –1965) (HappenStance Press)
  • Elizabeth Cook’s When I Kiss The Sky (Worple Press)
  • Diana Hendry’s The Guest Room (Worple Press)

Introduced by Helena Nelson of HappenStance Press, and with music from the Self-Righteous Brothers.

Mariscat’s Latest Pamphlet

Mariscat’s latest publication is Underwood by Stewart Conn. The poems contain all the creatures of the air – birds, ghosts, angels and even music floating on the breeze. Conn’s fourth pamphlet with Mariscat delves, with characteristic style, tenderness and humour, into his core concerns: love, family and the natural world.

Order by email: hamish.whyte@btinternet.com or post (Mariscat Press, 10 Bell Place, Edinburgh EH3 5HT). Pay by cheque (made out to Mariscat Press) or BACS (Bank of Scotland / Sort code 80 15 59 / Account no. 00413102) [no charge for p&p]

Stewart Conn’s poetry publications include Ghosts at Cockcrow, The Breakfast Room (2010 SMIT Poetry Book of the Year) and a selected volume, The Touch of Time (all published by Bloodaxe), Aspects of Edinburgh (Scotland Street Press); and most recently, as editor, Other Worlds: An Anthology of Scottish Island Poems (Polygon). From 2002 to 2005 was Edinburgh’s inaugural Makar.

Gina Wilson

We are very sorry to learn of the death of the poet Gina Wilson. Mariscat was very pleased to publish her pamphlet, It Was and It Wasn’t. We enjoyed a memorable evening with her and her husband when she was short-listed for the Michael Marks Award in 2017. We really liked her poems – wry, witty and moving.

Christine de Luca’s Veeve was longlisted for the 2021 highland book prize


Hugo Williams’ Badlands & Leontia Flynn’s Nina Simone is Singing for the Poetry Award and Mariscat Press for the Publishers’ Award.

Click here for more information on the Michael Marks Awards.